Where To Turn home page
 CalendarCalendar   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups  ResourcesResources   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Calendar 
Calendar eventCalendar
Sat Jun 24
Sun Jun 25
Mon Jun 26
Tue Jun 27
Wed Jun 28
Thu Jun 29
Fri Jun 30
NYSNA testimony Sandy re: Patricia Caridad June 2013

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Where To Turn Forum Index -> SANDY SUPPORT INFORMATION
View previous topic :: View next topic  
DMCKEON
Site Admin

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 7:59 pm    Post subject: NYSNA testimony Sandy re: Patricia Caridad June 2013
From Jun 25, 2013 to Jul 04, 2013 (included)

Good afternoon.
My name is Patricia Caridad and I am a Registered Nurse. I work for the New York State Nurses Association. I was responsible for coordinating medical care for the residents of Staten Island in the aftermath of Sandy. I have also done Sandy recovery work in Staten Island and Far Rockaway.
I would like to make some suggestions to take into consideration related to Intro 1065: Creating an outreach and recovery plan to assist vulnerable and homebound residents, and indeed all affected residents before, during and after emergency conditions:
On community outreach and tracking of vulnerable and homebound residents:
How will first responders and volunteers on the ground get access to a registry or listing of vulnerable and homebound resident to be able to offer aid? We suggest that Community Boards be responsible for the tracking of such residents with special medical needs within their neighborhoods. Each Community Board could then report to one medical professional that could keep a constantly updated list. In the event of another disaster these individuals could be tracked and found by their neighbors, for evacuation, healthcare and food and nutrition services.